Professor David Phoenix

Dave PhoenixGroup leader: Prof David Phoenix obtained his doctorate in Biochemistry from the University of Liverpool. He has published widely on the structure / function relationship of amphiphilic biomolecules and his contribution to the field of Biochemistry was recognized in 2009 when he was awarded a Doctorate of Science by the University of Liverpool. David is a fellow in the Society of Biology, (FSB), the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC), the Institute of Mathematics and Its Applications (FIMA) and the Royal Society of Medicine. Currently he leads a research group at the University of Central Lancashire, Preston, England, which continues his investigations into the biological activities of amphiphilic biomolecules. He was made an Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire in 2010 for services to science and higher education and was made an Academician of the Society for Social Science for his contribution to science education policy and practice in. 2012.

ResearcherID: F-8719-2011



Dr Sarah Dennison


Dr Sarah Dennison became a chartered member in the Society of Biology after graduating from the University of Wales, Bangor, in 1999 with a degree in Environmental Biology. Subsequently, she undertook postgraduate research in Biochemistry / Biophysics which led to a doctorate in 2004 entitled: ‘Investigation into the structure / function relationship of the membrane interaction of amphiphilic alpha helical antimicrobial peptides’.  Sarah continues her research at University of Central Lancashire as a Research Associate in the School of Pharmacy and Biomedical Sciences where she is currently investigating the biological activity of antimicrobial and anticancer peptides using a number of techniques such as Langmuir Blodgett monolayer analysis and CD spectroscopy.

Dr Timothy Snape

Dr Timothy Snape became a chartered member in the Royal Society of Chemistry after graduating from University of Nottingham and University of Manchester. Tim is currently developing new synthetic methods to biologically important molecules and structural building blocks, and applying them to the synthesis of natural products.

Associate members

(from the Computational Physics Group)

Prof Andrei Zvelindovsky is Head of Computational Physics Group. Read full profile.

Dr Manuela Mura obtained her PhD in 2010 from King’s College London.  Read full profile.

Dr Marco Pinna obtained his PhD in 2009 from UCLan. Read full profile.

Dr Yuhua Zhou obtained her PhD in 2008 from Xiamen University in China. Read full profile.

Dr Jianping Wang obtained her PhD in 2011 from Northeast Normal University in China. Read full profile.